FORUM / RUGBY /  Apologies & Fassi

Apologies & Fassi

Started by Plum30 REPLIES191 VIEWS· 19 Jul 2026, 06:29
Plum
PlumCaptain21,324 posts
19 Jul 2026, 06:29
19 Jul 2026, 06:29#1

Had family come to return some borrowed tools yesterday and it turned into a braai for the rugby.

Yes, I know, my presence on the match forum was dearly missed but I do promise that Hollie had nothing to do with it.

Now, Fassi...

Is there anybody here that thinks Horn wouldn't have been better? Again, Fassi did one or two good things and then nothing else aside from mistakes and making poor decisions.

There seems to be no progression with him since his injury. I do realise that it takes a bit to come back after an injury. However, he has been back playing for the while now and there seems to be no signs of him returning to what he was.

And he does look like he's lost the majority of pace. He was proper lighting before but I think that ankle injury pretty much put his pace to bed.

It really is time that Horn goes ahead of him in the order.

I did read the match thread this morning and it also appears unanimous that DDA's days should be over now. He was absolutely anonymous yesterday...against bloody Wales of all teams!?!?!?

Pakie
PakieCaptain17,609 posts
19 Jul 2026, 07:04
19 Jul 2026, 07:04#2

Lekker kak game, I didn't even finish. Moyo was okay but nothing special. Williams good in space but we know that from URC. DDA a dead end as always, a flanker wearing 12. The difference Willemse made after coming on was immediately noticeable. Quan needs to get a start but I think Fassi is Rassie's guy.

Did you check the Eng/Arg game? Proper back alley brawl but some great rugby too, England smoked them for the most part but the cards almost killed them. Would have been a comfortable victory if they kept their discipline. Impressive outing in a hostile environment from the Poms.

ruckers admin
Pro2,227 posts
ruckers admin20 Jul 2026, 10:07

@Plum does this invitation only extend to @Pakie ?

Plum
Captain21,324 posts
Plum20 Jul 2026, 14:40

Ag, ou Editor, jy weet mos jy is ook welkom!

Rooinek
RooinekCaptain18,336 posts
19 Jul 2026, 08:06
19 Jul 2026, 08:06#3

Not sure what's harder to believe . . . that Hollie had anything to do with your absence or that someone might return borrowed tools.

I'd stick with Fassi. He still hasn't found his pre-injury form but he might. Horn won't. He's a decent enough fullback but won't get to that level.

As for DDA, I'm hoping Rassie gives him one more cap to get to 100 and then puts him out to pasture.

Plum
Captain21,324 posts
Plum20 Jul 2026, 15:22

@Mozart against WALES...who are basically on the level of Portugal now!

It's becoming a joke at this point.

Check his magic skills at 1:59 "What a pass" ;)

Pakie
Captain17,609 posts
Pakie20 Jul 2026, 15:30

@Plum Fassi not backing himself to beat the prop and ignoring Arendse cutting in on a scoring line there also stands out.

Beeno1Captain40,080 posts
19 Jul 2026, 13:40
19 Jul 2026, 13:40#4

Plumpster I agree with your take on Quan versus Fassi. Quan should be on the bench.
As for Allende the big trouble on this board is that we have had DUD Mozzietard launching a campaign against Allende dating from years ago. Allende was receiving acclaim from the world wide rugby community whilst DUD Mozzie and a few gimps went into anti Allende mode.
What has developed on the board is a little echo chamber of nutters reinforcing their mutually held erroneous views.
Allende had a decent outing against Wales. Provided good go forward ball, great defence and distribution, grubbers etc. Gavin Rich spoke to Rassie after the Welsh Test and was told by Rassie that Allende and Kriel are still his top center combo. Kriel for that matter has also received a lot of criticism on this board from the resident loons!
So the smartest Bok coach in history will soon be awarding Allende his hundreth test cap making him second only to Jean de Villiers on 109 caps. The mamparas belonging to DUD mozzietards little echo chamber are quite happy to argue that Allende is useless. These clowns believe we have won two world cups, A Lions series win, Rugby Championship wins etc etc with two dud centers. Bwahhahahahahahahahahahaha. Its pure comedy!
Oaks its not wise to live in a little echo chamber, an absurd bubble that only helps you make extreme jackasses of yourselves. Hence the daft assessments made of Rassie as a coach and Du Toit as a number 7. No bigger blunders could possibly be made! Yet these mamparas think they know what is going on. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. Man its side splitting stuff. The wrong thinking and BIAS of these mamparas are epic and very hard to top.
And as for that moaner Plod Along Pakster, please listen to the Nel, Mallet, Rich clip I posted. You said it was a kak game. Find out why there were so many handling errors.

Pakie
Captain17,609 posts
Pakie19 Jul 2026, 14:25

And as for that moaner Plod Along Pakster, please listen to the Nel, Mallet, Rich clip I posted. You said it was a kak game. Find out why there were so many handling errors.

Let me guess - the Durban conditions, which I already mentioned in the live thread? Plod Along Pakster plodding along two steps ahead of the hapless Beeno.

DbDraad
DbDraadCaptain26,620 posts
19 Jul 2026, 14:30
19 Jul 2026, 14:30#5

Fassi is Black, Horn is white ... it's unfortunately still a factor.

kingcornPro3,731 posts
19 Jul 2026, 15:36
19 Jul 2026, 15:36#6

Here is my take. Firstly, yes, quota, if you pick two back players that hasn't performed all season is has at least some reputation from previous outings then you are a quota. No logical sense that any coach would pick those two. Vusi was all over the place, cross field kicks are easier and shouldn't be seen as the best piece of play. It is standard in the game these days.

Fassi, he played in the last few games of the URC and showed no form what so ever. His work rate is down and his skills are diabolical. I just watch some highlights of Williams in the URC and Fassi almost always stuffs it up with rubbish passes or poor decisions.

The conundrum, Rassies could only field two black players. So he had to go for Vusi and Fassi. That is probably why Dud and kriel struggled. That said, I really liked the England and French backline play. Backline players have time on the ball, draw their players, great touches.

What happened to Tony ball, our backs never seem to get beyond three backline passes before either a truck up or kick.

Then Rassies pick and mix, I haven't seen his real team yet, where as the all blacks are building continuity and starting the look the old ABs. Think Rassies is over obsessing in getting 75 players to be world class when he only needs 22. Can't see a guy like Vusi or Fassi outcompeting a Finn Smith or Ntmak or the new 10 from the ABs , Love.

The difference is, those chances are rare and for some reason, when they get a chance they step up.

Then the age of the team now.

We are still stuck with Etzebeth, Kwotalisi, PSDT, still world class, Reinach, Pollard, Dud, Kriel, Loos and so on. Where are the next guys that are starting.

Rassies should have picked his core group that are under 26 and play them for 10 games straight.

Don't get me started on Lubbok, back to his old self again.

I have more questions than answers ans I'm overly cautious. We might lose the test series which will be a crime

Beeno1Captain40,080 posts
19 Jul 2026, 16:12
19 Jul 2026, 16:12#7

Plod along Pakster, you mention it but don't take real account of it. It was a "kak" game - a comment typical of your anti Bok ravings. Gavin Rich and Mallet unpack how conditions helped create these handling errors in a much more detailed manner. What is kak is what in going on in whats left of your "mind".
So again, go and look at the klip and learn something about rugby. And please plod along Pakster stop your incessant whining about Bok rugby its boring and biased and a load of drivel.
Thanks

Pakie
Captain17,609 posts
Pakie19 Jul 2026, 19:42

Durban is well known for making handling difficult, we saw it throughout the recent URC. Why would I need to watch a "klip" to tell me what I already know? I don't need authority confirmation of my every thought like you apparently do.

And it was a kak game. If that's the kind of rugby you enjoy, watching a misfiring Bok side beat up a Welsh side that looked like they had to hire someone to get their bootlaces properly tied before the game, good for you.

Plum
PlumCaptain21,324 posts
19 Jul 2026, 16:44
19 Jul 2026, 16:44#8

"So again, go and look at the klip and learn..."

That's right!

Stare at the stone, and repent!

Plum
PlumCaptain21,324 posts
19 Jul 2026, 18:34
19 Jul 2026, 18:34#9

The little step where he always seems to beat the first man and then make a good decision after that. With G Williams, Moodie, Hooker, Willemse...all guys the are addicted to running support lines, a chap like this can unlock so much for a team.

I really hope he's a regular fixture with the Boks from now on.

Coach57,661 posts
clevermike19 Jul 2026, 21:53

Plum

I like Horn a lo/t - but h e is likely to e a bench playe for th e Spingboks with Willemse at full Back against strong er eams and start against weaker teams.

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad20 Jul 2026, 00:23

@clevermike ... I'm not a fan of Jurie, but he's been more than solid when standing in for Sacha at the Stormers...with Pollard aging, Manie being Manie and Sacha injury prone, he deserves a look...

Plum
PlumCaptain21,324 posts
20 Jul 2026, 06:31
20 Jul 2026, 06:31#10

Two questions...

1. If the World Cup final was tomorrow, Horn had a few more caps and DW was at 12, who are you picking for 15? Fassi with his shocking defence or Horn with astute game management and tactical brain?

2. "I'm not a fan of Jurie..." Why do you want to start the week off by making Pakie cry?

Pakie
Captain17,609 posts
Pakie20 Jul 2026, 11:15

"I'm not a fan of Jurie..." Why do you want to start the week off by making Pakie cry?

Die ouks mos think a man hasn't got feelings Plummie then they klap my blue eyed boys like this.

In answer to your question, I'd have Horn. If for nothing else than Fassi has no sense of positioning. Even Visasem Sharkbok has picked up on that and we know he picks up on nothing so it must be bleedingly obvious.

Saffolk Captain30,785 posts
20 Jul 2026, 12:58
20 Jul 2026, 12:58#11

Definitely stick with Fassi, he is a class act - has long proved his worth as a test player

As Mallet correctly pointed out, he needs time to rediscover his form after a long lay off.

He had some good moments, especially that nice break.

Fassi needs time as do Elrigh Louw and Hanekom

Captain23,261 posts
sharkbok20 Jul 2026, 14:54

Fassi is a good player, but I think we have better options. I dont trust him as the last line of defence.
He has had some of his better games as a wing.

Plum
Captain21,324 posts
Plum20 Jul 2026, 15:03

Hannas and Elrigh are noobs, of course they need time. Fassi has 16 caps and is badly out of form as well as being one of the major reasons for our embarrassing loss against Australia last year. Did you notice how slow he was at chasing his own kicks on the weekend? There were also a few occasions where the old Fassi would have turned the afterburners on but he didn't seem able to. And he has done ZERO for the Sharks since he came back. Granted, they are the worst coached team in all of rugby.

Hanekom is a no-brainer. No team in world rugby wouldn't have him immediately if they could. For me, he is the perfect rugby player. When he came back from his injury i was watching him closely. I'm actually amazed by how he plays. I still rate that any kids trying to learn how to be a loose forward should just watch him and do what he does, how he does it and when he does it. Perfection.

My theory on Elrigh is that he's gonna start a bit slow but in eight years time be indispensable. There was a question on here the other day about who might be a replacement for PSDT and i think he's a very strong candidate.

Do you still rate Wiese is merely dumb muscle, Dave? I'm sure you must have noticed how he took Hanekom and Divvy under his wing in the English game. Can you name a more important player in our current pack? Maybe Marx...but that's all i can think of.

Captain30,785 posts
Saffolk 20 Jul 2026, 17:39

@Plum no I’m loving Wiese - he is dumb muscle no finesse but as I’ve always said he is very effective dumb muscle

Disagree 100% re Fassi - it’s not about how many caps he has it’s about his form now post his long lay off. Also disagree regarding his performances for the Sharks, there were some good moments as there were on Saturday - but he is not back to his best - same applies to Elrigh and Hanekom

I’m not questioning their credentials, just their form. All 3 are no brainers when it comes to selection. All proven their worth at the highest level - a player like Fassi does not all of a sudden lose his abilities especially considering age is not a factor.

Fassi is a class act as are Elrigh and Hanekom but they all need time post long lay offs

kingcornPro3,731 posts
20 Jul 2026, 17:04
20 Jul 2026, 17:04#12

Welcome back Dave

Be that it may, Fassi should not be in the bin team purely to regain form. I agree that his defence is sus. In the previous game that he layed, think it was the BaaBaas he completely over ran when he was sweeping in defence. I saw earl rose do the the same, just to avoid contact.

We have 7 games for players to get tried and tested in. One against the Bargies and then the The Greatest rivalry tour. Rassies should release players to the unions and make it a proper contest for those unions.

Fassi should go back the the Saarks and have a crack there.

As for the argie match. I would select a young team and start with the likes of horn.

I think the argie game will be the most testing one of all the ones played this far.

Who would you pick in your match 23 for that game?

Saffolk Captain30,785 posts
20 Jul 2026, 17:48
20 Jul 2026, 17:48#13

Against the Argies I’d go

15 Fassi 14 Kolbe 13 Moodie 12 Willemse 11 Arendse 10 Libbok 9 Williams 1 Ox 2 Marx 3 Thomas 4 Eben 5 Ruben v Heerden 6 de Villiers 7 PSDT 8 Wiese

16 Wessels 17 Steenkamp 18 Wilco 19 Cobus Wiese 20 Roos 21 Papier 22 Sacha 23 Hooker

We need our best side out against the Argies as the team needs a run out before the AB series. I’m guessing Sacha and Eben will be ready as reports say they will. If not I’d start Cobus Wiese at 4 and have Ruan Vermaak on the bench. Pollard in for Sacha if they are not ready. Not sure about Ox’s fitness either. If he is not good to go then Steenkamp starts with Mchunu on the bench