FORUM / RUGBY /  Bok side

Bok side

Started by Saffolk 38 REPLIES197 VIEWS· 22 Sept 2026, 10:46
Saffolk Captain30,959 posts
22 Sept 2026, 10:46
22 Sept 2026, 10:46#1

15 Fassi
14 Edwil
13 Moodie
12 Esterhuizen (c)
11 Hooker
10 Pollard
9 Jantjies
1 Wessels
2 Grobelaar
3 Porthen
4 Eben
5 Mostert
6 de Villiers
7 Elrigh Louw
8 v Staaden

16 Marx 17 Ox 18 Wilco 19 Lood 20 Jasper 21 vd Bergh 22 Sacha 23 Horn

WTF is Mostert doing in there and why v Staaden at 8 and not Hanekom?

Coach50,617 posts
Mozart22 Sept 2026, 14:24

Weakest front row we have fielded for along time

Pro4,464 posts
becs22 Sept 2026, 17:52

@Mozart just what I was thinking.

The strangest line-up I’ve seen for a long time.

Rooinek
RooinekCaptain18,853 posts
22 Sept 2026, 11:18
22 Sept 2026, 11:18#2

Bit odd that he's picked a backline to run the ball and then puts Pollard at #10 rather than Manie.

Oh well, come on Bokke!!!

Plum
Captain22,091 posts
Plum22 Sept 2026, 14:38

@Rooinek AE is for the sure the captain that the Springboks deserve. Wonderful hands, the fastest player on the field, bench presses 300kgs and hasn't missed a tackle since 2018. What other man born from a mother can boast such amazing stats?

...and that's before we discuss his strike rate which is the highest in Bok history.

Rooinek
Captain18,853 posts
Rooinek22 Sept 2026, 15:23

So we all agree? Yes?

AE is one of the all-time great Springbok inside centres?

It would be a board first . . . but is this unanimous?

Plum
PlumCaptain22,091 posts
22 Sept 2026, 11:48
22 Sept 2026, 11:48#3

Looks like Horn is being converted into a 10.

Why pick him, after an excellent couple of seasons playing at 15...and then go an entire season without letting him start in that position?

But ja, though shalt not question the almighty.

Coach50,617 posts
Mozart22 Sept 2026, 15:02

@Plum …jokes, jokes……you think I’m joking, I only joke at 9.30, you should know that by now

Pakie
Captain18,309 posts
Pakie22 Sept 2026, 17:25

No thanks to Pakie of course.

Please, no need to thank me.

Oh, wait...

DennyCaptain13,179 posts
22 Sept 2026, 12:34
22 Sept 2026, 12:34#4

The side does not make sense by my count there’s 5 players who won’t make the RWC squad.

sharkbokCaptain23,408 posts
22 Sept 2026, 13:11
22 Sept 2026, 13:11#5

This team has a very B-team look to it. Some of the players are arguably C-team

sharkbokCaptain23,408 posts
22 Sept 2026, 13:15
22 Sept 2026, 13:15#6

I thought we had already witnessed the end of Mosterd

MP
MpowerPro5,219 posts
22 Sept 2026, 13:34
22 Sept 2026, 13:34#7

First off, I agree Quan Horn should have started at fullback. He's the more in-form player, and Fassi shouldn't be there.

For the people with bad memories... Without Franco Mostert we don't win the 2019 World Cup, and we don't win the 2023 World Cup either. That die-hard work rate and tackling like a monster is one of the biggest reasons we won both.

We all know he's going into the final stages of his career. At least show him the respect he deserves and let him finish out on a high. It's not going to hurt that he starts against the Wallabies. Let him end his tenure with respect. At least we can give him that.

Esterhuizen was one of the few who stood up in that Sharks squad as there Captain, and he stood up in the Greatest Rivalry tour too, scoring tries, playing centre, then switching to loose forward. He's a brilliant centre, versatile enough to play loose forward as well. He distributes, he puts players into space.

And if you want to say Mostert is too old for the Springboks, then Lood is in exactly the same category.

One more thing, I would have taken Jasper Wiese out of the matchday 23 and given him a rest too. I would have rather played Cobus Wiese. I know he's more of a lock, but I think he can play 8 as well, especially with Hanekom seemingly injured. Van Staden on the bench.

Now, to the two uncle mamparas, Beeno Biscuits and Uncle Clever. Shame man. 😊 They just want to feel special. Why don't you both rather go and try to walk around the block? It'll do you good. Then go and have a cup of tea and a Marie biscuit, afterwards. Or better yet, a "polisie koffie", with two shots of brandy in it.

Pakie
Captain18,309 posts
Pakie22 Sept 2026, 19:20

@Mpower some say ou Maaik is old, we should cut him some slack, but he has enough of his faculties to regurgitate the same bullshit year in and year out. It's not age, it's the same baseline dishonesty he's exhibited for the past decade on here. His little fantasy about Mostert not contributing to that defensive sequence is one I debunked with visual evidence a while back, but up it comes right up again.

MP
Pro5,219 posts
Mpower22 Sept 2026, 19:26

Ja nee, Pakie. I think the uncle might need a "poeiertjie" 🤣

Beeno1Captain40,433 posts
22 Sept 2026, 14:34
22 Sept 2026, 14:34#8

. Mampara power unfortunately you reverted to your mampara roots with your closing comments. You can't keep a true mampara down
Hahahahahahahaha.

MP
Pro5,219 posts
Mpower22 Sept 2026, 12:42

Says the biggest Mampara of them all...Bwahahahahahahaha

Coach50,617 posts
Mozart22 Sept 2026, 13:36

Colonel McGregor nailed the team…ROFL!

Saffolk Captain30,959 posts
22 Sept 2026, 21:30
22 Sept 2026, 21:30#9

Yep I don’t get the selection of Mostert at all he has always been kak but of late when he has played he has been completely anonymous.

Now aged 35 what’s the fucking point. Hopefully this is his last test ever

The other piss poor selection is v Staaden out of position at 8, not only is he as thick as a plank he offers nothing other than a hard edge some 50% below what Jasper dishes out

Is much rather have seen Lood at 5, Elrigh at 8 with Vincent Tsituka at 7

As Moz says it’s the weakest frontrow we have fielded so far, it’s not a weak one, just weaker and then we have Mostert at 5 and not much bulk in the loose trio. So let’s hope for parity in the scrums with the bench coming on to dominate in the second half