FORUM / RUGBY /  Kolisi not ready to retire... so sad

Kolisi not ready to retire... so sad

Started by kingcorn41 REPLIES308 VIEWS· 23 Jul 2026, 18:34
kingcornPro3,731 posts
23 Jul 2026, 18:34
23 Jul 2026, 18:34#1

So Kolisi is pushing 34 going onto 35. We've just seen Paul De Villiers blow off the door and featured at 6 for 3 games straight, which is very rare in the Rassie era.

Kolisi form hasn't been that great, some may argue. The only thing that makes him half appealing is that he does gain meters with ball in hand, his tackle stats are somewhat misleading as most of his tackles he makes is where other players help him.

Everyone knows my gripe with him and he is nowhere near the same class as van Der vlier or Ardie Savea.

He has always been a token to buy Rassie time with the sports ministers. The only way Rassie coupe use him is to keep him on the field for 35 min , max 55 min. Normally the boks are behind at that stage and as soon as he goes off the boks start getting dominance. That is because the likes of Kwagga, van staden, Deon Fourie and way back when Francois Louw. All of these players play the role of the 6, they get turn overs and get the likes of Cheslin to counter attack and score tries. We know in the modern game that ruck speed is what sets the best teams apart and with more and more teams opting for ball in hand, except for South Africa.

The other question, of all the elder statemen, does kolisi add any value as a leader when Rassie opted to go with Kriel, PSDT and Bongi when he was still in shape.

It is really sad because he has become delusional and probably believe that he should lead SA when he was just a token to bring people together. He has done his job but to me he is no longer reliable to be on the field.

Neither do you see him running around as a water boy like waterboy like Vermeulen or there to help the coaches.

What you will see is him just farting around and trying to lead a handful of black players into song. You never see him bring the white or coloured players into his singing. Which is a real shame because that part of Bantu culture is amazing.

Imagine all the boys coming up, clapping singing together.

The All Blacks calls it Mana, the Afrikaners call it gees, spirit.

Yet to me he doesn't seem to unify the team.

So, with Kwotalisi wearing his welcome very thin and many unions that hosted him left frustrated. The Saarks that forked huge amount of cash, then allowed him to go to France, only for him to disappoint and shown up in the toughest comp in the world. The Saarks had to dole out huge cash to bring him back. Injury prone and hardly featuring along with his mate Eben, then to moan that he wants to go back to the Stormers only now to stand in the way of Paul Devilliers who has now claimed that jersey.

What can he offer?

DbDraad
DbDraadCaptain26,620 posts
24 Jul 2026, 15:34
24 Jul 2026, 15:34#2

He is a symbol... still good for the odd game... he'll be our RWC captain if he's fit to play or not... it's just the way it is ...

Rooinek
RooinekCaptain18,336 posts
24 Jul 2026, 16:59
24 Jul 2026, 16:59#3

KKKC, I find your naked racism offensive.

Just as an example, when Rassie announced his squad your very first reaction was to count the number of black and coloured players.

Your Ruckers Forum history is littered with posts about how much you dislike all the black players.

I'm guessing you're an ex-pat and I'm also guessing you left South Africa because you hate black people.

We don't need "supporters" like you. Please find some other team to support . . . maybe there's an Aryan team out there you will identify with. Either way, I hope Siya is our captain and I hope he makes you eat humble pie.

As much as it makes your skin crawl, Siya Kolisi will always be remembered as a Springbok legend and rightfully so. One of our greatest players and without question our greatest ever captain.

Suck on that.

Pro3,731 posts
kingcorn24 Jul 2026, 17:26

Race card much?

Define racism?

Calling out one group getting preferential treatment and speaking truth makes one a racist.

Keep sucking the ANC pipe of how disadvantage people should get more

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad24 Jul 2026, 18:59

Nonsense Rudehole...🧌 Your virtue signalling is a new level of cringe...even for you...

DbDraad
DbDraadCaptain26,620 posts
25 Jul 2026, 03:05
25 Jul 2026, 03:05#5

Care to give your take on the views expressed in the article Bob?

kingcornPro3,731 posts
25 Jul 2026, 12:50
25 Jul 2026, 12:50#6

Looks like rooidoos has nothing to say.

Retract your piece of kak or you will forever be targeted as a race hustler.

I will he keeping a close eye on your biases.

I stand for meritocracy, not sentiment or past history.

"transformation" or race replacement is fact, yet, the most recent England Soccer team had only 3 out of 11 white players on the field. Blacks are less than 5% in England. Do you see people apply the same logic?

Rooinek
Captain18,336 posts
Rooinek25 Jul 2026, 13:01

I've said what I wanted to say, KKKC.

I retract nothing. You've been bashing all the players of colour for years now . . . not just your latest whine. Glad you've left this beautiful country. We don't miss you.

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad26 Jul 2026, 13:47

@Rooinek ...look who's the one telling porkies ...eager to paint others with the liar brush, but does it regularly yourself...you just can't help yourself...

Plum
PlumCaptain21,324 posts
25 Jul 2026, 14:10
25 Jul 2026, 14:10#7

Eish, KC, have to be honest and say I agree with Rooi on this one. Your criticism, obviously born out of frustration with quota policies, is incredibly biased against black players.

Moyo, for example, was given a taste of Test rugby against Wales and the first thing you thought to say was that it was only because he is black.

Did you forget his success last year? Do you disagree that if a kid shows that much promise then the national coach might want to get his feet wet long before he's the finished product so that he can get an idea of what it's all about instead doing it in three years time?

My honest opinion is that I'm fully on board with Rassie on that one. In fact, I wish they would do stuff like that more often. Why wait? If you belive a kid shows promise, expose him to the big time as soon as possible. It doesn't mean he'll be the first choice 10 next year...but it means that by the time he's 23 you have a guy that isn't even in his prime yet but is accustomed to the pressure of test rugby. That kind of thinking will ALWAYS have my vote...literally always. I was surprised how much flack Moyo took on this board after the game. I thought he did very well considering his age and massive lack of experience. If Rassie was simply painting by numbers there are many other black players he could have included instead of Moyo.

My opinion on Moyo is clearly in the minority at this point. But that's neither here nor there. The fact is, we do ourselves a disservice by explaining everything away with quotas and racial policies.

Also, KKKC is a damn hilarious nickname 😂😂😂

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad25 Jul 2026, 16:04

"When you look at the dark side, careful you must be ... for the dark side looks back."

Rooinek
Captain18,336 posts
Rooinek25 Jul 2026, 16:25

Shut up liar. Stop trying so hard to be relevant.

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad26 Jul 2026, 02:06

@Rooinek LOL, lighten up, stop trying so hard being a tough d!ck... it's not working.

DennyCaptain12,997 posts
25 Jul 2026, 21:01
25 Jul 2026, 21:01#8

Stop trying so hard to be relevant.bold
Well said.

DennyCaptain12,997 posts
25 Jul 2026, 21:09
25 Jul 2026, 21:09#9

Corn has been repeating the same racist remarks for as long as I can remember, and his criticism of people of color has always been negative.

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad26 Jul 2026, 02:11

Corn has a pet hate for Kolisi and what he perceives to be some quota selections... he's not negative or bias against all the black players...but let's reach to play the race card, it's so much easier than having a proper discussion...sweep in front of your own door.

Captain12,997 posts
Denny27 Jul 2026, 02:21

@DbDraad .sweep in front of your own door.

So what door would that be?

kingcornPro3,731 posts
26 Jul 2026, 10:20
26 Jul 2026, 10:20#10

I don't care

Merit always, any player should be measured by those who came before them and ask if they are better or equal to those who wore the jersey. Simple.

I'm tired if players being pressed into the team when they are not ready or just hanging onto a position to make up certain quotas.

Pointing it out now makes one racist.

You okes have been brainwashed for too long.

How is it racist when you point out that your current captain can't stay on the field for more than 35 min. Doesn't feature anywhere in turn over stats or tackle stats. Which is his job as an opensider and you can't find him more in the tramlines than over the ball, competing on the ground like Pau De Villers does.

Then you also yourself the question why.

Oh there is this thing called transformation and it is stipulated that 50% of the team has to be black and many black players must be selected or the coach get dragged through the mud in the media.

So who are the real racists, you, for supporting this.

We ask why Rassie can't play a proper attacking game. Constantly rotating and so on.

If our players were so skillful, why do we kick the most with the lowest ball retention.

We survive and thrive by having an incredible pack with aunwavering work rate and fantastic player like Kolbe, Willemse, Arendse to name a few that can score out of nothing, but we never see a slick backline play. Always around the corner and driving our opponents into the ground .

Go and listen to Steve Hanson on how he sums up the boks.

I will not change , so just suck it up

Rooinek
Captain18,336 posts
Rooinek26 Jul 2026, 18:41

@DbDraad When have I ever presented myself as an "educated gentleman", liar?

Another disgusting lie . . . like when you claimed I said the US hit on the Minab school was intentional.

LMAO! And that was on the thread where you boasted you had the memory of an elephant and I demonstrated that your memory was less like that of an elephant and more like that of a goldfish with Alzheimers.

Just stop responding to my posts, liar. I'll do the same.

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad26 Jul 2026, 19:16

@Rooinek I never said you expressed yourself as an educated gentleman...and I know what "lie" on what thread you are referring to...go back and read the whole thread, take an Oxford and look up the meaning of "lie"...or continue to perpetuate your own lie...no skin of my back.

"Just stop responding to my posts, liar. I'll do the same."

You do what you like, I'll do as I please...what makes you think you can dictate anything to anyone?

kingcornPro3,731 posts
26 Jul 2026, 10:27
26 Jul 2026, 10:27#11

And just for reference, have you ever seen Siya rally his team. Here is the real captain and you Kolisi just hanging onto his side to get the glory for doing nothing

Plum
Captain21,324 posts
Plum26 Jul 2026, 10:52

Allow me to chuck some fuel on the fire...

This from WR's code of conduct, note the inclusion of "Associations" and "Ruby Body" and the term "discriminate";

**Regulation 18 – Code of Conduct

“No Union, Association, Rugby Body, Club or Person shall do anything which is likely to intimidate, offend, insult, humiliate or discriminate against any other Person on the grounds of their religion, race, sex, sexual orientation, colour or national or ethnic origin.”**

How is it that SARU and the ANC get away with it!?

That statement is broad and all encompassing. It's clear, no racial discrimination may occur and there is no limitation placed on it.

One wonders if a well crafted legal campaign could end quotas in our sport.

To my mind, racial selection policies have discrimination baked directly into them.

So, unless WR will change their code of conduct and put the word "unfair" before "discrimination", like the South African constitution does, then one could seemingly easily argue that SARU are in direct contravention of the Code of Conduct as per WR.

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad26 Jul 2026, 13:42

It's not racist if the discrimination is beneficial to blacks.

Plum
PlumCaptain21,324 posts
26 Jul 2026, 11:04
26 Jul 2026, 11:04#12

I got AI to draft a letter to WR and I'd love to see the mental gymnastics that would result were someone to send it to them;

To: The Chief Executive Officer
World Rugby

Subject: Request for Clarification Regarding Regulation 18 and Race-Based Selection Criteria

Dear Sir or Madam,

I write to request clarification regarding the interpretation and application of World Rugby Regulation 18, specifically the anti-discrimination provision contained within the Code of Conduct.

The relevant provision states:

“No Union, Association, Rugby Body, Club or Person shall do anything which is likely to intimidate, offend, insult, humiliate or discriminate against any other Person on the grounds of their religion, race, sex, sexual orientation, colour or national or ethnic origin.”

I seek clarification as to how World Rugby interprets this provision in relation to the selection of representative teams by its member unions.

Specifically, I would be grateful if World Rugby could clarify the following:

1. Does Regulation 18 prohibit a member union from using race as a criterion in the selection of players for representative teams competing under World Rugby’s auspices?
  2. If race is used as a factor in selection decisions, does World Rugby regard this as discrimination on the grounds of race within the meaning of Regulation 18?
  3. If World Rugby considers such policies to be compatible with Regulation 18, what is the legal or regulatory basis for that interpretation?
  4. Has World Rugby issued any formal guidance, legal opinion, disciplinary decision, or other interpretation explaining how Regulation 18 applies to race-based selection policies?
  5. If no such guidance exists, does World Rugby intend to publish clarification to ensure that member unions have a consistent understanding of their obligations under Regulation 18?

The wording of Regulation 18 appears to prohibit discrimination on the grounds of race in broad terms. Consequently, where a member union adopts policies that expressly include race as a factor in player selection, it is not immediately apparent how such policies are reconciled with the language of the Regulation.

This request is made in the interests of regulatory clarity and consistency. As the governing body of international rugby union, World Rugby’s interpretation of its own regulations is of significant importance to players, member unions, supporters, and the wider rugby community.

I would appreciate a written response addressing the questions above or identifying any published material that provides the relevant interpretation.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Yours faithfully,

Piet Pompies

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad26 Jul 2026, 18:32

Wens in jou een hand, en......

DennyCaptain12,997 posts
27 Jul 2026, 03:07
27 Jul 2026, 03:07#13

'Corn' I'm all for a level playing field and merit selection and I should add that I'm all for equal opportunity in all facets of life. I have a question for you but before I ask let me say I've always believed that Kolisi's selection as captain was a political selection. Good, just pointing out that I'm attempting to be fair, balanced and honest. I ask the same of you.

So here answer me this, quota selections were mandated a while ago and I believe it's served its purpose and its used by date is now long gone....

Over a couple of decades participating in various rugby chat formats, I’ve never once seen a white person stomp their feet or shout in protest against the overwhelming selection of white players and/or the exclusion of black people from the workforce.
Imagine being a Black person or a person of color living under Apartheid, stripped of the benefits of civilization, then, even after liberation, still being denied your inalienable human rights. After more than a century of being treated as a nothing, how would it feel to be forced to stand at the back of the queue—or worse, to face a new world where there still isn't a queue at all?

And all of that is because morons from a different era were too damn selfish, prejudiced, ignorant and hateful to start a new day where all men are treated equally.

So there, start me off....you the black man begging for an all inclusive society......would you be content to continue a life as before or would you have different expectations with immediate effect?

That my friend is my question.

I hope I haven't offended you or anyone else.

Pro3,731 posts
kingcorn27 Jul 2026, 07:32

Oh, there have been plenty of players we've got moaned about her the years that should never been in the bok squad.

Answer me this, I advocated for Libbok to be included in the bok team and stressed Rassie was leaving it too late to get him ready for the world cup.

You have papier and roos who are the best performing URC players in the entire League, and have been so for a number of seasons and yet can get a crack. Then you have a unknown player who play age group and gets a test cap.

What is the qualification to become a bok then? Just be black and half competent.

Rassie hardly took any 10s to the world cup. Now we have plenty

Sasha, Pollard, Libbok, all three have at least another 2 world cups in them

Then you have Willemse and Kolbe

Rassie also tried Horn at 10.

Start seeing a pattern now?

bobbok
bobbokCaptain10,300 posts
27 Jul 2026, 03:41
27 Jul 2026, 03:41#14

Reddit - Please wait for verification

reddit.com

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad27 Jul 2026, 05:50

(ANC Transformation)= (Apartheid II x Corruption)

How to destroy a country in 3 decades...SIES!!!

bobbok
Captain10,300 posts
bobbok27 Jul 2026, 07:46

@DbDraad ... I included the link cos it hosts a shitload of diverse comments

you're right the corruption has been eye-wateringly disgusting

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad27 Jul 2026, 15:12

@bobbok, I know, I read the comments... it's sad that there's so many who are still justifying Quotas...calling it redress... transformation... it's not. Racial quotas is just puting lipstick on a pig ...there were lots of people justifying Apartheid too...some do so even to this day...refusing to believe the trauma and suffering it caused...equal opportunities does not equal equal outcome...and forcing such outcomes are just wrong..the fact that rugby in South Africa is still functioning at the highest level of excellence is a miracle on it's own...which I'm enjoying despite the fact that it's just plain wrong...a selfish weak indulgence.

kingcornPro3,731 posts
28 Jul 2026, 20:22
28 Jul 2026, 20:22#15

And while we on this point, isn't is strange that Sharks finished in the bottom 3 this season in the URC, despite having the most "talented" pool of players and now they are so brilliant they bring in a 44 year old rugby player called Manu.

They had Ox, Bongi, Koch, Eben, Jenkins, Kolisi, Fezz Mbata, Pepsi, Tesuka 1 and 2, Jaden and Jordan Hendrikse, Williams, Esterhuizen, Am, Hooker, Mpimpi, Fassi, Jerrenzo Julius, Hooker

That is an incredible team on paper and some how Rassie turns this rabbel into world champions. How, by getting to kick, chase and tackler their hearts out. No fancy passes or off loads, smart angles or what so over. Just rugby basics. Yet you blame Plumtree who is a decorated coach. They've got Neill Powel who had huge success building up the blitz boks from nothing

Then you watch the matches, so many mistakes, players holding onto the ball too long, trying to off load when they shouldn't and so on.

Yet Fassi and Vusi gets a free pass after playing in a team that got nowhere.

Horn helped the lions reach the top 8 and he can only get a cameo while Fassi holds up the team.

What people forget, their different ethnic groups in SA, making you black or white doesn't make you the same.

So how are you going to try and squeeze people form 11 different ethnic groups and hope they become champions

DbDraad
Captain26,620 posts
DbDraad29 Jul 2026, 02:42

...you give them common purpose they really believe in...Rassie is a master of instilling belief...

Beeno1Captain40,080 posts
29 Jul 2026, 07:10
29 Jul 2026, 07:10#16

One of the most hilarious things to happen on this board is when anti White far left racist radical wee rooitwit starts to virtue signal yet again. Way back I spoke out against selections based on quotas. I argues selections based on race were racist and argued for pure merit selection.
This of course got poor rooitwit into complete froth. He called me a Nazi etc etc.
Then a funny thing happened, his son got rejected for a job and poor rooitwit was outraged at the injustice.

I always love the way reality breaks in or usually teaches the erring. But of course in racist rooitwits rigid world nothing too much has changed as you can see. He is still accusing anybody arguing for merit selections as being a racist. I recommend to all the boneheads here that you argue the case for a player based on merit ALONE.
Congrats to Draad and Kingkorn for taking a stance based on what they believes is playing ability. Kingkorn praises other players of colour but criticism of Kolisi is deemed racist. These mamparas have no logic. The tired old racist card is brought out. I for one don't give a fig anymore about the racist card. I simply don't care one iota.
My own opinion held for along time now is Kolisi has good a good international career. Not a world beater as a player but did a job for us and had some great moments, He has conducted himself well and brought South Africans together. I personally don't think he is a great leader of men but it didn't matter as the Boks have a number of leaders.
Away with ou rooitwit and his racist comments Bwahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. On with the dunce hat! Go and stand in the corner for 2 hours rooitwit and consider the error of your ways.

kingcornPro3,731 posts
29 Jul 2026, 13:12
29 Jul 2026, 13:12#17

This is how we should select players. If I was president I would dictate that all sports people where a suite like this and generic names

Plum
Captain21,324 posts
Plum29 Jul 2026, 13:19

but how will be tell Cheslin and RG apart?

Pro3,731 posts
kingcorn29 Jul 2026, 16:56

Look for the third leg